Home Biography Discography Music Brizac Records Links Contact

Jim Weatherly - Songs I've WrittenJim Weatherly - Songs I've Written

This is the first new album by Jim Weatherly in more than a decade. On this CD are some of Jim's biggest hits as a songwriter including "Midnight Train To Georgia" (two different versions), "Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me", "Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye)", and "The Need To Be" ...plus ...four new songs. Seventeen cuts in all, they are all new studio recordings on the Brizac label.

Review by Joel Scarborough:
A lot of us hopeful Ole Miss Rebels had Jim taking the Quarterback plunge into pro football, but his love of music drove him in a totally different direction. I guess you could say he made the right choice. One glance at his website, at the finite list of hit songs he has composed, and it's easy to see why. AND....If you never own another album, don't pass up Jim's latest CD; a true masterpiece: "Songs I've Written". Nobody writes a love song more heartfelt and moving than Jim, and this album reflects his absolute best at writing AND at performing. From the poignant "A Lady Like You" to the dynamically buoyant "You Turn Me On Like A Radio", or from the exotic slow rocking, "My Eternal Love" to the doleful "Where Do I Put Her Memory", you'll find it hard to pick a favorite. But if the album had only two songs on it: "Midnight Train To Georgia" (the soulful, up-tempo version) and "Midnight Train To Georgia", (the reflective, bluesy version), it would still be worth the price.

The writer knows how to sing his songs!!, June 11, 2003
Reviewer from Amazon.com: "A music fan" of Indianapolis, IN
Having heard Jim sing since he was a high school member of his own rock & roll band, I can say that his voice has only gotten better. The depth of his feelings that he put in writing these songs comes through loud and clear. Maybe some day RCA will get smart and release the albums that he recorded so the rest of the music lovers can hear what he wrote and recorded. It is no surprise that he won songwriter of the year in the 70's and recording artists loved to sing his songs. Interviews with Gladys Knight were so full of praise for his ability to turn a phrase and make a song that any artist would be happy to sing. This new album shows these songs and the music to be just as timely today as when he wrote them. The new young audience should give a listen and I know they will become fans. Just sit back and be entertained. I promise you will not be disappointed.

This CD is for the person who is all about lyrics,the true essences of great music!
Reviewer: "Deborah" on CDBaby.com
This CD shows what talented writing is all about. Jim Weatherly can let you feel all the emotions that revolve around love, relationships, hurt, healing and finding what we all seek which is true love. The music is put together well and the arrangements are very different from the popular Top 40 hits. This CD is probably closer to how the songs were truly meant to sound. I found the CD very enjoyable and if you are a true Weatherly fan you will not be disappointed.

Reviewer: jane e legros from Reston, VA
Jim Weatherly has one of the best voices I've ever heard... and I'm over 60! When I tell friends what he's written, they don't believe me because they've never heard of him. How do we get our C&W stations to feature him? He is fantastic!

5 STARS: Must Experience Weatherly, April 4, 2009
By Kathryn Gourley - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs I've Written (MP3 Download)
Those of us fortunate enough to have experienced Jim on any level are amoung the chosen ones that share his universe. I am a long time fan of this gifted, warm hearted, sensitive man. His knack for getting to the heart of the matter with poetic lyrics and sweet smooth honey vocals give soul a whole new meaning!
Those first RCA recordings are still my favorites even though I have all (that I am aware of)the other ones so far. I am curious about this new import on the way so if anyone has further information to share I would appreciate a note.

5 STARS: author: Jeff Hall
When I first heard this Cd, I was somewhat indifferent because I liked the original arrangements so much. But the more I listened, the more I liked this Cd. The versions of Neither One Of Us,Between His Hello And My Goodbye and You're The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me, might be better than the originals. Like all of Jim's music, if you are a fan of this brilliant singer/sogwriter, you must add this Cd to your collection.

4 STARS: author: Chris from Germany--Great to have him back
if you have come across any of the 70's releases of Jim you might need some time to get into the "modern" sound... the original "The need to be" has brought me to tears for some 20 years now every time i hear it and there's no need for drum samples really. But well... we're living in 2005 now and it's great to have this voice back! Please keep up the good work and tell the world!

4 STARS: author: jolene heck--great to be able to listen to again
great CD-not like the original-"the need to be" was my favorite song of the 70s. The more I listen to this version the more I like it. A must have for Jim Weatherly fans.

Click on a song title to purchase and download that song ($.99/song). Click on the speaker icons to listen to song clips (Windows Media format).

  1. Midnight Train To Georgia (4:21) Click to listen to a song clip!

  2. The Need To Be (4:39) Click to listen to a song clip!

  3. If I Had Lived My Life Without You (5:33) Click to listen to a song clip!

  4. You Turn Me On Like A Radio (4:15) Click to listen to a song clip!

  5. Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye) (4:54) Click to listen to a song clip!

  6. Until Forever's Gone (4:33) Click to listen to a song clip!

  7. Love Finds It's Own Way (4:33) Click to listen to a song clip!

  8. Someone Else's Star (4:04) Click to listen to a song clip!

  9. Between His Goodbye And My Hello (4:18) Click to listen to a song clip!

  10. A Lady Like You (4:04) Click to listen to a song clip!

  11. My Eternal Love (4:44) Click to listen to a song clip!

  12. This Is A Love Song (5:04) Click to listen to a song clip!

  13. Where Do I Put Her Memory (4:40) Click to listen to a song clip!

  14. Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me (4:38) Click to listen to a song clip!

  15. Until We Fall Back In Love Again (4:51) Click to listen to a song clip!

  16. Where Peaceful Waters Flow (3:48) Click to listen to a song clip!

  17. Midnight Train To Georgia (5:35) Click to listen to a song clip!

Produced by Jim Weatherly and Jonathon Willis

2003 Brizac Records.

$17.98 + s/h

Choose this option if you want the actual CD shipped to you.


Choose this option if you would like to download the songs in MP3 format [138MB ZIP file]

<< Back to MUSIC page